“What I Know Now” about Political Debates

Political Debate Edition

What I Know Now…

Political debates are fun, but the people in attendance are not.

senate debate

This requires a quick story to explain my new gained knowledge on political debates…

So, I volunteered for my honor society at the senate debate last Wednesday involving

Cory Booker (NJ-D)  and Steve Lonegan (NJ-R)

I was briefed on the rules and etiquette of a political debate beforehand.

One of which is not permitting anyone in the audience to wear material that supports or opposes either candidate.

(I italicized that because its important … in case you didn’t catch my drift)

With that being said, as I sat down I noticed two (teenage) boys had managed to get into the debate with tshirts on supporting a specific candidate (of whom I won’t mention so that as you read this there is no bias).

I POLITELY (key word: politely) asked the two teenage boys to remove their shirts for the duration of the debate.

There were please and thank-you’s involved and even a “sorry for the inconvenience” mention was included.

As soon as the words left my mouth a group of older (mid forties) men and women looked at me like I was the spawn of Satan and ignorantly asked, “Do you work here or something?”

Hm, “Do I work here or something?”…  Belittling question, I agree.

So, instead of stooping down to the ignorance of these audience members, I held up my badge (pictured above), grinned, and quietly sat down. That was that.

…OR SO I THOUGHT…

The debate starts and everything went great. It was an exciting educational experience with lots of very important people in attendance (yes, I brought my business cards this time…).

Once the debate ended I began to grab my belongings and felt a slight tug at my blouse from behind me.

I turned around to see one of the women glaring at me the same way my mother glared at George W. Bush supporters. Her finger was already pointed at me as if she was ready to blame me for the shutdown of our government and I’m 100% positive I saw steam coming out of her ears (okay, okay, So I’m exaggerating there just a bit, but if it was biologically possible for steam to come out of her ears … there would have been steam coming out of her ears).

Before I could even yell, “HELP I’M BEING PHYSICALLY ATTACKED BY A CRAZY WOMEN”, she promptly asked me,

“I’m sorry I didn’t catch your name earlier when you held up your little  badge.”

Except, she wasn’t sorry. She was cocky.

and here is the one part where the crazy lady is right: my name wasn’t even on the badge.

Now, before I tell you what happens next I should tell you (if you haven’t figured this out already) I am overly sarcastic and sometimes people just don’t understand my sarcasm, nor think it’s as hilarious as I do.

With that being said, I replied “Why do you need my name, don’t you have your own?”

senator meme

(I know, I know, hilarious!)

Crazy lady did not like this. She stuck her skinny little pointer finger in my face and told me that she thought I was rude.

This is the part of the story where I get completely confused and I’m sure you will as well.

“How was I rude ma’am? I kindly asked the young boys to remove the shirts and thanked them after doing so. I apologize if you feel that way, but in no way, shape, or form did I intend to come off as rude.”

WELL, WELL, WELL, crazy lady didn’t know what to say to that so instead she decided to start using some profanity…

“YOU STUPID BITCH, SHUT UP!”

Now mind you..I’m here at my University, representing my school, here for an educational experience and crazy lady over here is just ruining everything for me OVER A DAMN T-SHIRT.

YES PEOPLE, AGAIN, THIS IS OVER A T-SHIRT! 

So I felt the need to ask her, “Ma’am” (because the name crazy lady didn’t come to me until later on that evening after I digested what had happened), do you see any other people in attendance with t-shirts or posters supporting their political party..no you don’t, because I helped usher people into the auditorium and I personally made sure that everyone was following protocol.”

Well, crazy lady did not like that. Crazy lady told me that it is a part of our Second Amendment right (that’s the one about gun control) that allows her to wear her shirt if she pleases. Actually, crazy lady it’s your First Amendment, but it’s ok I figured you weren’t educated properly anyway considering you can’t even follow the proper etiquette of a debate. This was followed by more of  her profanity and her explanation on how I’m, “Never going to go anywhere in life.” I quickly yelled for the police (standing in ear shot) , asked for her to be removed, and to be shown where the free speech zone was located outside.

senator debate

Agreed Mr. Ron Burgundy, Agreed.

So what do I wish I knew then that I know now … A LOT.

What I know now

always say please and thank you.

It will help you prove a point later.

What I know now

Always ask for a badge.

It shows authority and makes people shut up.

What I know now

not everyone understands sarcasm …

especially hardcore crazy lady Republicans.

(oops, did I just say that?)

What I know now

certain people hold their t-shirts in very high regards.

lonegan

the t-shirt reads: “The Second Amendment Protects the First Amendment”

this must have been where crazy lady got her amendments mixed up …

What I know now …

don’t ever stoop down to crazy negative people’s levels. 

This is important not just in this situation but in life. Every time I stoop down to someone else’s level I never end up looking like the intelligent one or feeling like the winner winner chicken dinner. Keep your composure, your wits, and your mouth in tact. Crazy lady wanted to make me feel small. She wanted to make me feel unimportant. She wanted to make me feel like my job or education was in jeopardy.

I have to say Eleanor Roosevelt was on point.

roosevelt

2 thoughts on ““What I Know Now” about Political Debates

  1. Funny story. Sorry about your luck. That’s the name of the game. People are constantly worrying about their first and second to flip out over them. 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

